Free Consultaion

Connect With Us

Guide to the ISO accreditations

Guide to the ISO accreditations

The world of ISO accreditations can be quite daunting at first glance with lots of letters and numbers and highly complex sounding Management Systems – but with this helpful guide we hope to reduce some of that uncertainty and explain some of the commonly seen/used ISO standards – there are hundreds relevant for different industries but the below are probably the most used across a wide range of industries, and they may be something that could help organise your business to future proof and protect its operations:


ISO, which standards for International Standards Organisation refers to a body which holds all the Certification Standards for the different management systems and ensures consistency. Each certification has separate standards and criteria and is classified numerically as shown below.


ISO 9001

ISO 9001 is defined as the international standard that specifies requirements for a quality management system (QMS). Organisations use the standard to demonstrate the ability to consistently provide products and services that meet customer and regulatory requirements.


ISO 14001

ISO 14001 is the international standard that specifies requirements for an effective environmental management system (EMS). It provides a framework that an organisation can follow, rather than establishing environmental performance requirements.


ISO 18001

OHSAS 18001, Occupational Health and Safety Assessment Series (officially BS OHSAS 18001), was a British Standard for occupational health and safety management systems. Compliance with it enabled organisations to demonstrate that they had a system in place for occupational health and safety. This has now been replaced by ISO 45001.


ISO 45001

ISO 45001 follows a preventative process, which requires hazard risks to be evaluated and remedied, as opposed to hazard control, under OHSAS 18001. … In adopting ISO 45001, your organisation will find and identify potential hazard risks before they cause accidents and injuries.


ISO 27001

The requirements of the ISO 27001 standard expect monitoring, measurement, analysis, and evaluation of the Information Security Management System. Not only should the department itself check on its work – in addition, internal audits need to be conducted.

No Comments

Post A Comment